Septic Pumper Permits

The septic pumper program regulates the use and disposal of domestic septage while protecting public health from unsanitary and unhealthful practices and conditions; and to protect surface waters and groundwaters of the state from contamination by septage. A person wishing to engage in the business of servicing septic systems must obtain a permit from the department.

Septic pumper permits are issued on a yearly basis. The timetable for permitting is:

  • All permits expire on December 31.

  • Permit renewal begins January 1.

  • Deadline for renewal is March 1.

Any renewal application postmarked after March 1 will pay fees as a new applicant.



Septic Pumper Manual

The guidance manual for the septic pumper rules undergoes revisions as new information and technologies are developed. Please see Information Tab for current version. 

Land Application

Land application is permitted and is subject to the federal requirements for land application of septage.

Exam/Training

The Annual Septic Pumper Exam consists of 20 questions and requires a score of 70% to pass.  All questions are derived from NDAC 33.1-21-02. A certificate can be printed upon completion and is good for one year from date of issuance. 

A hardcopy of the exam may be requested and will be graded upon return to the Department. A certificate of completion will be mailed back to you if the exam is 70% or higher. 

The exam can be taken as many times as needed to obtain a certificate. 

Five-Year Training

For any questions on future five-year training sessions, contact A.J. Delzer (701) 328-5282


Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Becker Sarah WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-9151
Brazil Emily ebrazil@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Dahl Lane ldDahl@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5222
Delzer Alexis adelzer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5282
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Galloway Noah ngalloway WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Gilley Cameron cgilley@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5210
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Hanson Lawrence lawrence.hanson@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5291
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harrison Kylee kharrison@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5187
Hite Nicole nhite@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-1676
Houle Brian bHoule@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5193
Hulst Annelise ahulst@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-1377
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kritzberger Ryan rKritzberger@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-9035
Kruske Montana mkruske@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5172
McCauley Jenna Jenna.McCauley@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management
Miller Meridith meridith.miller@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5166
Nelson Amber amjnelson@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Novak Emilee ejnovak@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5240
Olson Jaxsyn jaxsyn.olson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-1382
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5225
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schiwal Alyssa aschiwal@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5159
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wallery Paige pWallery@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5243
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214
Woutat Tanner twoutat@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233