Stormwater Permits

Stormwater runoff and snow melt can pick up chemicals, bacteria, sediment, and debris from urban areas, construction sites, and industrial facilities. Runoff that enters a storm sewer or ditch does not go to a lagoon or treatment plant. Instead, runoff flows directly to rivers, lakes, and streams without any treatment.

Stormwater permits provide a level of treatment through planning and management that minimizes pollution in runoff from urban areas, construction sites, and industrial facilities.

There are no fees for stormwater permits. For more information please email stormwater@nd.gov.

 


Construction Permits

Construction Permits: The construction general permit applies to construction projects that disturb one or more acres including smaller projects within or part of a large development.

1. Develop Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) to minimize pollution from soil erosion and other sources

2a. Submit an electronic Notice of Intent and mail an original signed copy no later than seven days before construction starts
or
2b. Submit a Notice of Intent through the Electronic Reporting System (ERIS)

3. Implement the SWPPP to minimize pollution from soil erosion and other sources like fuel, oil, and waste

4. Monitor the site and complete inspections

5. Submit a notice of termination once final stabilization has been met

A project is automatically covered under the permit seven days after the department receives the notice of intent.

Coverage under the permit is required for oil and gas projects if runoff from the project can carry eroded material to a water of the state. Coverage is not required for oil and gas projects if runoff will not carry eroded material to a water of the state.

Industrial Permits

Industrial facilities must follow the industrial stormwater permit, also known as the multi-sector general permit. Facilities must implement a stormwater pollution prevention plan to minimize pollutants in runoff. Facilities conduct quarterly inspections to ensure the plan is implemented. Fifteen categories of industrial activity conduct stormwater sampling.

Find your facility's SIC code on the OSHA Website. See the EPA Website to find out if your facility requires a permit.

Mining, Extraction & Paving Material Permits

Mining, extraction, and paving material preparation (MEPM) facilities must follow the MEPM stormwater permit and implement a stormwater pollution prevention plan to minimize pollutants in runoff. Facilities conduct quarterly inspections to ensure the plan is implemented and submit annual inspection reports. Seven categories of MEPM facilities conduct stormwater sampling. Portable operations submit location reports to the department.

Municipal Seperate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4)

Municipal separate storm sewer systems, or MS4s, are public storm sewer systems in or around more populated cities in the state. Regulated MS4s are required to develop a program to minimize the discharge of pollutants from their storm sewer system. MS4s provide a summary of their program to the department each year.

Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Becker Sarah WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-9151
Brazil Emily ebrazil@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Dahl Lane ldDahl@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5222
Delzer Alexis adelzer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5282
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Galloway Noah ngalloway WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Gilley Cameron cgilley@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5210
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Hanson Lawrence lawrence.hanson@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5291
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harrison Kylee kharrison@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5187
Hite Nicole nhite@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-1676
Houle Brian bHoule@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5193
Hulst Annelise ahulst@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-1377
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kritzberger Ryan rKritzberger@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-9035
Kruske Montana mkruske@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5172
McCauley Jenna Jenna.McCauley@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management
Miller Meridith meridith.miller@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5166
Nelson Amber amjnelson@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Novak Emilee ejnovak@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5240
Olson Jaxsyn jaxsyn.olson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-1382
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5225
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schiwal Alyssa aschiwal@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5159
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wallery Paige pWallery@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5243
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214
Woutat Tanner twoutat@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233