Fees are required for certain programs and services provided by the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality.
Questions may be addressed to the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality at 701-328-5188 or email AirQuality@nd.gov
Application Fee for a Permit to Construct
A filing fee of $325 must be paid for all sources requiring a Permit to Construct. The
payment of the fee, in the form of a check or money order made payable to the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality, shall be submitted with the permit application. Fees may also be paid electroncially, via credit card (with additonal serivce fee) or ACH (no additonal fees), through CERIS-ND.
Additionally, an application processing fee must be paid for sources when actual processing
costs exceed $325. Applications requiring a major engineering analysis and/or computer
dispersion modeling may result in significant costs which will be included in the fee. Itemized
statements are prepared on a periodic basis (normally quarterly) and a final statement will be
provided to the applicant following final action on the permit application. These fees are invoiced using CERIS-ND and can be paid in the form of a check or money order or electroncially, via credit card (with additonal serivce fee) or ACH (no additonal fees), through CERIS-ND.
Application Fee for a Permit to Operate
Title V, minor source and, synthetic Permit to Operate applications, administrative changes, revisions and renewals do not require a fee.
Annual Permit to Operate Fees
An annual permit fee shall be paid for all sources/installations operating under a Permit to
Operate, except those which are exempt as designated by the Department; the annual
permit fee is based on:
- Source classification and/or annual emissions.
- Costs incurred by the Department for audits of source-operated ambient
- Costs incurred by the Department while observing source and/or performance
Permitting & Compliance Fees
Annual Fee Schedule for Minor Sources
(True Minor, Synthetic Minor, & General)
|State/Local Government fee for a Permit to Operate
Annual Fee Schedule for Major Sources
(Title V- for bills issued July 2023 & scheduled to be issued July 2024)
|Minimum fee for a Permit to Operate
|Fee for Criteria Pollutants (PM102, SO2, NOx, & VOCs) Emitted
|Fee for Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAPs) Emitted
Emissions up to 4,000 tons per contaminant per source and for boilers greater than 250 MMBtu/hr.
emissions are counted in PM10
- The rules exempt state and local government-owned facilities from fees.
- Small Businesses under the Clean Air Act may petition for exemption from annual fees. For more information about small businesses see the Small Business Assistance Program.
Each boiler with a heat input greater than 250 MMBtu/hr will be assessed fees on an individual basis and independent of the fees associated with the rest of the installation.
Major source fee rate/ton may be increased annually based on 12-month Consumer Price Index (CPI) ending August 31 each year. Note: The August 2023 12-month CPI rate was +3.7%.
General Information Concerning the Air Pollution Control Permit Fee System (01-2022)
Title V Annual Adjustment to Major Source Permit to Operate Fees Memo (09-2023)
Fees for Construction Permits, Operating Permits, and Oil & Gas Well Registrations are detailed in Chapter 33.1-15-23.
Oil & Gas Well Registration Fee
A filing fee of $150 must be paid for all new well heads at new or existing sites, see Oil & Gas Well Registration Information for more information. The
payment of the fee, in the form of a check, money order, credit card, or ACH made payable to the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality, shall be submitted with the registration package.
||Hour for Staff, 1st hour free.
||For other cost incurred during the records request.
Last Updated: 01/11/2021